Landing : Athabascau University

Global change

Focus area steward: Leslie Main Johnson, Ph.D. lesliej@athabascau.ca

ethnobiology, ethnobotany, anthropology, traditional knowledge, health and environment, culture and environment

Jane Arscott, Ph.D. janea@athabascau.ca

human service education, women and politics, e-governance, e-citizenship, e-democracy, policy analysis, political theory

Jonathan Baggaley, Ph.D. baggaley@athabascau.ca

education and media, evaluation methodology, health promotion, community development, applied social psychology, communication studies

Ken Collier, Ph.D. kcollier@shaw.ca

community development, critical perspectives on social work, social welfare (policy), and rural development, prior learning assessment, political economy, development economics

Gloria Filax, Ph.D. gloriaf@athabascau.ca

sociology of the body (processes of normalization), contemporary social theory, qualitative research, ethnography, discourse analysis, youth studies, cultural studies/popular culture, governance & globalization, sociology of education, equity studies, trauma studies

Michael Francis, Ph.D. mfrancis@athabascau.ca

anthropology, visual anthropology, documentary and/or ethnographic film, cultural studies, African studies

Mike Gismondi, Ph.D. mikeg@athabascau.ca

sociology, Nicaraguan social history, environmental sociology, the place of the local in globalization, social economy and sustainability

Greg Johnson, Ph.D. gregj@athabascau.ca

Canadian external relations, Canada and the Pacific Rim, Canadian-American relations, Twentieth century world history, Northern Alberta

Wendell Kisner, Ph.D. wendellk@athabascau.ca

political philosophy, social theory, recent continental thought, German idealism, environmental philosophy, global studies, focused study of various specific texts drawn from the corpora of the following thinkers: Giorgio Agamben, Alain Badiou, Gilles Deleuze, Jacques Derrida, Hans-Georg Gadamer, Felix Guattari, G.W.F. Hegel, Martin Heidegger, Immanuel Kant, Emmanuel Levinas, Maurice Merleau-Ponty, Antonio Negri, Friedrich Nietzsche, Plato, Slavoj Žižek

Elizabeth Lange, Ph.D. elizabeth.lange@shaw.ca

Sociology of education, social theory, international/global education, social movements, sustainability/environmental education, adult education, transformative adult learning, action research and popular education

Manijeh Mannani, Ph.D. manijehm@athabascau.ca

Comparative literature, cultural studies, genre studies, literary theory, colonial/post-colonial literature

Mark A. McCutcheon, Ph.D. mccutcheon@athabascau.ca

postcolonialism, new media and techno-culture, performance studies, Romantic literature, popular culture, adaptation studies

Laurie Milne, Ph.D. lauriem@athabascau.ca

interdisciplinary human ecology, archaeological science, world prehistory, ethnology of North America, human evolution, hunter gatherer ecology

Bruce Morito, Ph.D. brucem@athabascau.ca

applied ethics (including Aboriginal thought applied to natural resource management), environmental ethics/philosophy/policy (including Aboriginal thought and cross-cultural ethics), traditional ecological knowledge and resource management, personal identity, value theory

Collette Oseen, Ph.D. collette.oseen@athabascau.ca

women and organizing, transformatory organizing, women and development/globalization, French and other European feminist theory, feminism and the movies, feminist methodology

Kaddi Purru, Ph.D. KadiPurru@shaw.ca

Theatre Studies, Cultural Studies, Film Studies, Literary Studies, Curriculum and Instruction (cultural epistemologies and ways of knowing, critical postcolonial pedagogy, interdisciplinarity), Qualitative Research

Mary Richardson, Ph.D. maryr@athabascau.ca

applied ethics, environmental ethics

Shandip Saha, Ph.D. shandips@athabascau.ca

medieval religious history in south Asia, religion and politics in modern India, Hinduism, comparative religion, study of religion

Angela Specht, Ph.D. spechtal@xplornet.com

cultural production and consumption of identity within the contexts of community development, tourism, heritage, and public art, intersection of social theory (poststructuralism and cultural studies) with economy, culture and place, cultural and economic production of place via tourism, museums and public art, public policy and formation of place, identity and community, ethics and public policy, globalization, governance and social change, representational literacy

Barbara Spronk, Ph.D. bspronk@island.net

international development and its discontents, distance education and development, the ethnography of globalization

Veronica Thompson, Ph.D. thompson@athabascau.ca

Canadian literature, postcolonial literature and theory, women in literature, feminist and gender studies, Canadian-Australian comparative studies

Comments

These comments are moderated. Your comment will not be visible unless accepted by the content owner.

Only simple HTML formatting is allowed and any hyperlinks will be stripped away. If you need to include a URL then please simply type it so that users can copy and paste it if needed.

(Required)

(Required)