Landing : Athabascau University

Work, organization, and leadership

Jane Arscott, Ph.D. janea@athabascau.ca

human service education, women and politics, e-governance, e-citizenship, e-democracy, policy analysis, political theory

Ken Banks, Ph.D. ckbanks@rogers.com

community development, social research, social policy, organizational behaviour, diversity and oppression

Mark Biddle, Ph.D. mbiddle@shaw.ca

MAIS 645 Understanding Work and Learning

Cathy Bray, Ph.D. cathyb@athabascau.ca

adult education, gender and education, gender and health issues, gender and organizations, online education

Ursule Critoph, M.A. ursulec@athabascau.ca

the Canadian training/skills development system, women and learning, unions and workplace learning, joint union-management processes, unions and work, adult education, community-based learning, workers and the recognition of prior learning

Gloria Filax, Ph.D. gloriaf@athabascau.ca

sociology of the body (processes of normalization), contemporary social theory, qualitative research, ethnography, discourse analysis, youth studies, cultural studies/popular culture, governance & globalization, sociology of education, equity studies, trauma studies

Mike Gismondi, Ph.D. mikeg@athabascau.ca

sociology, Nicaraguan social history, environmental sociology, the place of the local in globalization, social economy and sustainability

David Gregory, Ph.D. davidg@athabascau.ca

history of labour and socialist thought, history of Anglo-American popular music

Elizabeth Lange, Ph.D. elizabeth.lange@shaw.ca

Sociology of education, social theory, international/global education, social movements, sustainability/environmental education, adult education, transformative adult learning, action research and popular education

Richard Marsden, Ph.D. richard@athabascau.ca

social theory on the organization and politics of work

Judy Nielsen, Ph.D. NielsenJ@fsd38.ab.ca

adult education, special education, school improvement, educational research in the area of teacher development, educational leadershiip

Karen Nielsen Ph.D. karenn@athabascau.ca

Gender and education, gender and health issues gender and violence

Collette Oseen, Ph.D. collette.oseen@athabascau.ca

women and organizing, transformatory organizing, women and development/globalization, French and other European feminist theory, feminism and the movies, feminist methodology

Frits Pannekoek, Ph.D. fritsp@athabascau.ca

Western Canadian history, history of the pre-1870 West, Métis studies, heritage management and preservation, interdisciplinary communication studies, public policy

Pat Rasmussen, Ph.D. patras4@shaw.ca

transformative adult education and community organizing, curriculum/educational studies, rethinking the self (subjectivity, discourse theory, and everyday relations of power), postcolonial and poststructural perspectives of education and social work, contemporary cultural and social theories of gender, sexuality, class and race, disability studies, health promotion and prevention in human services, creative non-fiction, journalling, and writing autobiographically, sociology of work - labour process, subjectivity, professionalization, cooperatives, feminist political philosophy, feminist counselling theory and practice, qualitative/interpretative inquiry (especially narrative inquiry)

Mary S. Runté, Ph.D. mary.runte@uleth.ca

work-family/life balance, social responsibility in organizations, nonprofit and voluntary sector management, business history, feminist theory of organizations, existentialism and management theory, critical theory, qualitative methods-discourse analysis, poststructural

Robert Runté, Ph.D. runte@uleth.ca

popular culture (cyberculture, kid culture, avocational subcultures), sociology of education, organizational behaviour (committees, stakeholder groups, long hours culture), sociology of the professions and management of knowledge workers, qualitative research methodologies, Canadian speculative fiction

Tony Simmons, Ph.D. tonys@athabascau.ca

sociological theory, theory of organizations, illustrious outsiders

Mike Sosteric, Ph.D. mikes@athabascau.ca

sociology of information technology (including subareas such as information technology, biotechnology, reproductive technology, technology and the developing world), Canadian society, labour process, Marxist theory as applied to developmental psychology, sociology of religion, sociology of technology, sociology of technology and industry, sociology of spirituality, consciousness research, transpersonal psychology, Eastern mysticism, noetic sciences

Bruce Spenser, Ph.D. bruces@athabascau.ca

adult education, workers' education and labour education, labour unions and labour relations, international issues in labour relations and education

George Tombs, Ph.D. gtombs@athabascau.ca

representations of the individual in art, literature and science, governance in public and private institutions, organizational perspectives, creative non-fiction, journalism and media studies

Comments

These comments are moderated. Your comment will not be visible unless accepted by the content owner.

Only simple HTML formatting is allowed and any hyperlinks will be stripped away. If you need to include a URL then please simply type it so that users can copy and paste it if needed.

(Required)

(Required)